On March 30, 2011, Google officially blogged about its +1 button. It’s a rectangle with a +1 symbol, visible in Google search results. Google uses it to help people share results they like among their friends. It’s a tool for web publishers too. If you run a web site, adding the +1 button allows people to show they like your page – much like a Retweet on Twitter or Like on Facebook.
In short +1 is a way for people to recommend pages they like through Google.
You may see +1 next to a list of pages in returned from a Google search. You may see it among the other social sharing buttons on web pages when visiting your favorite site or blog. Once you are logged into your Google account you may see a note showing you which of your friends liked the item you see in search results (you must be logged in or it won’t show up in results of Google search).
+1 gives you a way to publicly recommend content on the Web. It works like this: You find something on the Web – something you appreciate so much, you want to show it.
So you click the +1 button.
What Happens when you click the +1 Button
Here is what happens:
- In search results, the +1 turns blue– (to show you clicked it)
- A link to the page shows up in a list of things you +1’d in your Google Profile
- If you click it on a page (as opposed to a search result), your click may be tallied with other clicks and the total shown to others on published pages
- Your +1 click may show up with your profile picture in future search results, identifying your “like” action among people you’re already connected to through Google. Eventually your personal +1’s may appear to your contacts when connected to you via other social networks as well.
Here is an example of the change to your Google social profile when you click +1:
Google likens +1 to a helpful note you leave for your friends, in this 1-minute intro video:
Helpful resources on the Google +1 button